thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Today

9 Comments


Today we will not be going anywhere. We will not be making any elaborate craft projects, or getting chased by the tickle monster. There will be no trip to the park.

Today is all about caring for my raspy voiced little toddler and his runny nose.

Today I will allow him to watch Sesame Street and snuggle with him under a blanket on the couch. I will grant requests for more toast with butter instead of trying to insist on a banana. I will refill his sippy cup with tea, then water, then fruit juice, then more water, and then milk. I will read the same story over and over and over again.

Today is one big time-out from the norm, a relaxation of the rules and a deviation from the usual checklists.

Today is for nurturing.

Today is for rest.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

9 thoughts on “Today

  1. Everyone needs those days 🙂 Enjoy 🙂

  2. My son is 18 months as well and I do enjoy those moments when he is willing to cuddle. Hope he feels well soon:)

  3. It reminds me that when I was little my mom made me tea and cinnamon toast… hope he feels better soon.

  4. I need a ‘today’ for, like, a month… 🙂 Hope the kid feels better!

Leave a Reply

