thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

DIY White Board

11 Comments


Here is a simple project, that I saw on Pinterest one day, and had one of those slap-your-hand-on-your-forehead/why-didn’t-I-think-of-that moments.

With the way things can sometimes get hectic around here, and the communication required about the child between parents, we use a whiteboard to leave each other notes and reminders. Instead of hanging a big, kind of ugly white board in my kitchen, I copied the idea to frame some pretty paper and write directly on the glass with dry-erase markers. I found the frame at an antique shop for $5.00, and got a piece of scrap-book paper at the craft store for about .50 cents. The board hangs among some art in our kitchen, fitting right in as decor.


Here I leave Jeramy notes about what he should feed Simon for dinner while I am at work, or reminders of what time to give medicine. Sometimes I will jot down grocery items that need to be picked up, or things that need attention around the house. (And as you can see, sometimes I draw caricatures of our son.)

The board looks cute, saves on paper, and helps two busy parents share information that might be forgotten in a rush out the door.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

11 thoughts on “DIY White Board

  1. Ooh fun idea! I love seeing ideas from pinterest come to life on blogs – so much more inspiring for some reason! Great work, love your blog! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. This is such a good idea! We definitely need something like this in our house. Have a lovely rest of week ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Brilliant! I have some pretty Japanese washi paper that would be perfect for this.

    Also have a lot of mama friends who’d love your idea!

  4. That is fabulous. I am going to copy this great idea for sure! Thanks for sharing.

  5. Absolute genius! Will definately be creating one myself! Thanks

Leave a Reply

