thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Space

6 Comments

 

Living in an apartment with no yard in the city means that sometimes we find ourselves lacking in and craving space. Space for running, playing, exploring, and being with nature. Thankfully, we live within short distance of many places in which to experience this.

I make it a priority to bring Simon to places like this as often as possible. Whether we walk to the park, hit a local hiking trail, or drive to a field by a lake, I feel that it is incredibly important for a growing toddler to not only experience being outside, but also to freely discover the natural world at his own pace, and with his little hands. To be able to run  off in one direction, and then decide to stop and look at an interesting plant or rock before running off in another.

Living in a state where Winter is long and frigid, also means we must seize upon every opportunity to be in nature. Once she arrives, Winter can drive us inside much more, giving us cabin fever and a longing for warmth and green.

We have rare days where neither parent is working, on which no other obligations are scheduled. On those days we can bundle up in jackets, grab a ball, and head to a local place with a gorgeous Autumn view, to take joy in having space.








Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

6 thoughts on “Space

  1. These pictures are so amazing! I also live in a city apartment even though my boyfriend and I both LOVE the outdoors. We are already having the discussion about where to raise a family because it feels a pity to rob a kid of the natural world. However, we all do what we can and I loved reading this because it made me feel like it is still possible to give your kid a life with the outdoors despite city living!

    • Oh gosh, your comment makes me so glad! Yes, I lament our lack of a house on several acres of land on at least a weekly basis. But I have learned to wait patiently for that day and in the meantime just get out as much as possible. We also read books about nature and collect bits to bring home and study further. Good luck to you as you grow your family!

  2. Hi! Thanks for your comment… I’m pretty sure I have re used my carved pumpkins. It’s so warm out though, that I’ll bet it won’t work this year… 😦 If it’s nice and cool and the pumpkin isn’t moldy and gross looking I’ve done it. Maybe it’s not a good idea though!

    • Haha, perhaps a little more research should be done on my part, since mine has been living in the warm inside for several days. I am imagining our great-grandmothers would shudder at the thought of wasting them.

  3. I love the family portrait!

Leave a Reply

