thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Waking

6 Comments


This morning arrived much earlier and more harshly than most. An odd pain in my toe punctured my dreams and startled me awake just before 5 am. I blinked at the clock, and tried to convince myself to ignore it so that I could get more sleep. It would not be ignored, and continued to irritate me.

The child normally wakes at 7:30-8 am, but he too, woke early. The sounds of his babbling began to come over the monitor by 6.

I am now practically cuddling with my mug of coffee in order to absorb the warmth. I made it a strong cup this morning, and stirred chocolate into it for a little decadence. Simon is already down for a nap, his schedule thrown off by his early rising.

Today will be one of appointments, housework, and cooking. Here’s hoping the coffee does its job today.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

6 thoughts on “Waking

  1. I hope your pain will soon release as the coffee will;)
    What Simon’s done to wake you up is just like what my daughter used to do:)
    Happy Day…

  2. Sometimes I would just turn the monitor off for just a few extra minutes of sleep. LOL- I’m sooo not a morning person.

  3. i swear sometimes Isaac senses when i am awake early and wakes up early

Leave a Reply

