thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Weekend Home

2 Comments

The weather report I read last week, that said we were in for a whole week of rain, turned out to be fantastically wrong. The sun has returned to us, just in time for the weekend. I ended up with both days off from work, and I have been enjoying a rare entire weekend at home with my boys.

Simon and I went back to Ricker Hill with some friends on Saturday morning and selected a pumpkin. We haven’t done anything with it yet, but it is sitting in the middle of my kitchen. We have been going about our business as though a pumpkin in the middle of the kitchen floor is a perfectly usual thing. It brings me joy when Simon plays around it, driving cars and boats on it, or trying to tip it over and lift it back onto its bottom again. He keeps pointing it out to us and saying “App-o!” because he thinks it is a giant apple. I don’t blame him, coming to that conclusion, with his one-year-old logic, considering we went to the same place we got our apples from to pick it out.





Right now, as I write this, in the quietude of Simon’s nap time I am feeling glad.

~For the sunshine that has returned to illuminate the brilliantly colored leaves, and to cure the blues that come when seasons shift.
~For the novelty of eating brunch together as a family, and the way my silly husband avoids making dirty dishes at all cost.
~For the way my baby points at the rocking chair to tell me he wants to rest his head on my chest and have me rock him before his nap.
~For Simon’s newest word: “Guy” which is what he calls all of his little people.
~For time to just be, and to enjoy the warmth of home together as a family.

Hope you all are enjoying your time as well! I’d love to know what you are glad about right now.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

2 thoughts on “Weekend Home

  1. your post made me smile, my blog post yesterday focused on home, kiddos, art and autumn 🙂 it is so sweet and precious to have the time to celebrate the wonderful simple things in life!

Leave a Reply

