thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Apple Day!

5 Comments


Last year, when Simon was only four months old, Jeramy and I took him apple picking at Ricker Hill Orchards. We chose that place because they have pick-your-own organic apples. I try to buy organic, especially for “the dirty dozen” when I can, but having a baby strapped to my body made me want to go to a place that offered it even more. We enjoyed the experience so much we vowed to make it an annual family tradition. I have been looking forward to our return ever since.




They are a wonderful orchard, on top of a hill with the most breathtaking autumn views you could hope for. You can also pick-your-own pumpkins there, get a tractor ride, go to a petting zoo, eat amazing fresh doughnuts, and more.



Today we were there for three things: the apples and the fun that comes from picking them ourselves, some fresh, hot cider, and the doughnuts.

Despite having to wait until into October this year, the weather was phenomenal. Nice and warm, with a brilliant sun and a heavenly breeze. We went right before sunset so there were not a lot of people.

Simon spent most of the time up on his Daddy’s shoulders, helping to reach the high up-apples. He smiled big each time he dropped another one into the sack. He did not like the branches and leaves to tickle his face though.




After we had collected enough apples, we got them weighed and took a little stroll through the pumpkin patch.





Then we made our way back down the hill to the store where they sell gifts, produce, toys, and freshly made baked goods and cider. Last year we bought a “modest” six doughnuts, and realized we would need more the next time. This year we got a dozen (four of each flavor: apple, chocolate, and pumpkin) and still wished we would have brought home more. Perhaps there could never be enough?





I also need to gush for a second about the apples. I mean, apples are pretty much always yummy, but nothing, and I mean nothing, compares to the taste of organic, local, peak of season apples picked right off the tree. So juicy and full of flavor!


Another autumn family tradition scratched off our list. Another wonderful (and delicious!) day.

Our treasures are now soaking in my sink, filling it with their lovely red and green. Now to dig out some of my favorite apple recipes. Have any to share?

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

5 thoughts on “Apple Day!

  1. We are headed to the Pumpkin Patch this weekend for our annual trek. Besides pumpkins, we always get apples and doughnuts. Our weather is a mix of crazy rain and then sunny but brisk days. I am hoping this weekend will at least be a glimpse of dry weather. I’m not super excited to take all 3 boys out into a muddy field in the rain to get a pumpkin. Love that you are having such a nice fall!

  2. We just went to Ricker Hill Orchard for the first time this past weekend too. I agree, the organic, fresh-off-the-vine apples are amazing! And those doughnuts! We each ate one there, but didn’t get any to bring home, and the whole drive back, I was wondering… why not!? Next year… Love your pictures too!

    • I made plans in advance that I would be having apples and doughnuts for dinner, haha. I always forget that the doughnuts are so small. I always think we will have enough to share with friends and family, and to eat some the next day too, but we just can’t help ourselves!
      So glad other people like the orchard. Hooray for organic!

  3. Pingback: 12 Fall Family Activities « thismummaslife

Leave a Reply

