thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Finding Quiet

6 Comments

Today’s post is coming late. A lot of bustling about has been going on around here in the last 24 hours. But oh my, what a glorious, sunny day we are having! I cannot believe the temperatures for October in Maine. This morning, Simon and I ventured out for a coffee for me and a fruit smoothie for him, all bundled with sweaters and hoods. Boy, were we surprised by the warmth when we stepped out, and quite quickly we shed the extra layers.


This morning Hubby left for an overnight trip to Oktoberfest in New Hampshire, and Simon and I attended the birthday party of a close family friend. (More about that later.) Upon our return home, Simon crashed right out for a nap, and I am enjoying what seems like the first quiet in a couple of days.


Tonight it will be just me and my boy. I am baking us a squash to go with supper, and might give the child a bath. As for me, once he is in bed I have a mountain of laundry and other domestic tasks to tangle with that have been put off for days.


Sometimes a quiet night in is just what is needed.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

6 thoughts on “Finding Quiet

  1. i appreciate quiet nights more and more these days…super cute doggie hat…i briefly scrolled through your posts and am looking forward to “following” your blog! i saw many yummy recipes and fun crafts i’d like to try…miss when i only had one child so young and full of potential but enjoying the ride with two older ones, too…thanks for finding/commenting on my blog! 🙂

  2. My husband is currently at Pumpkin fest! I’ve got one boy down for a nap, and the other two are watching a movie. I’m hoping to get caught up on some writing, laundry, and prep for Monday. But I am going to need more coffee to accomplish anything else! 🙂

  3. Your laundry pile looked as big as mine was this weekend. Where does it all come from? 🙂

    I can usually get a lot done before my husband and daughter even get up on the weekend LOL!

    ~Kat

Leave a Reply

