thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Morning Dance

6 Comments

There are some moments that you just want to capture and hold onto with all your might. If you could just save exactly the way they feel with all five senses and keep them for reliving later on down the road of life.

This morning I experienced such a moment. Simon and I were sitting together at the kitchen table, listening to the new Feist album that I bought yesterday. Both of us were bobbing our heads and tapping our feet to the music. I thought to myself how funny and cute it was for a one year-old to be enjoying this music as much as me. Then, a softer song from the album, “Caught a Long Wind”, began to play. I looked at Simon and asked him if he would dance with his Mumma. He nodded yes.

I scooped my child up into my arms and began to sway and slowly turn with the rhythm of the song. He leaned into me and rested his head on my chest. I closed my eyes, and felt his soft hair and warmth. I felt the strength of my love for my baby and this shared moment. As the music layered and swelled so did the bliss I was feeling. Just perfect.

I wished that he will always be willing to dance with his Mumma.


“Little bird have you got a key?

Unlock the lock inside of me
Where will you go?
Keep yourself afloat
Feeling old until the wings unfolded
Caught me a long wind
Where will we go?
Keep ourselves afloat”

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

6 thoughts on “Morning Dance

  1. How lovely! I think impromptu dances with our kids are the very best. Take heart, my six year old still wants to dance with me! But they have to be fast songs with a good beat! I love that he hears my favorite song on the radio and will turn it up for me, or just start bopping his head in time to the music. Love that you are sharing your love for music with your son.

    • We love a good fast song too! Sharing music with our children is such a special thing. I know how much it influenced me growing up having a drummer for a Dad and music being played at home all the time.

      Thanks so much for sharing. So glad yours is not “too cool” to dance with Mom. 🙂

  2. i loved this post…i feel this way about so many things in life…take way too many photos and write on and on about them just hoping to someone hold onto the memories tighter…just now i’m ironically commenting on trying to experience/appreciate the moment as my son is nursing and trying to look into my eyes so more later 🙂

  3. I try to dance with my girl as much as possible. Even though she is a squirmy 7.5 month old, she loves it. She throws her head back and squeals in delight as we twist and turn to “grown-up” music, or just me singing my own silly versions of nursery rhymes. Her round eyes and toothless grins warm my heart. I’ve never been so in love! 🙂 ~Kat

Leave a Reply

