thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Glad

2 Comments


I am feeling so grateful this morning for the sunshine and the wonderful weekend we have been having. We have been enjoying the company of friends, many of whom we do not see nearly often enough, and we have also experienced the joy of being just us three– Mumma, Daddy, and Simon- and savoring a day of adventure together. (More about that later!)

These early autumn days are a favorite time of the year. I have begun feeling the anticipation of holidays and celebrations, the desire to nest and de-clutter our home, and the urge to create, whether that be baking cookies or crafting.

At this moment I am feeling a sense of joy and peace. I am choosing to ignore the stress of work later, a messy house, a cranky child, a delayed shower. It is so easy to get caught up in the chaos of life and let my days slip away from me. Instead, I choose that today will be one to focus on what is making me happy.

~My big mug of freshly-pressed coffee.

~The excellent conversations I have shared with friends over the past few days.

~The summer-like activity of sitting around a fire in good company, and feeling a bit like a kid again.

~The breeze coming in my window and the absolutely gorgeous weather outside.

~The fact that yesterday’s rain and drizzle did not spoil our plans or our moods one little bit, and dried up right on time.

~A chance to take it slow this morning. Nowhere to rush off to.

~The memories we created yesterday at the fair, that are making me already excited for next year.

~Starting our new family traditions together.

What is making your heart glad today? Please leave a comment and share!

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

2 thoughts on “Glad

  1. I love your list! I’ve been feeling the same way about early fall, de-cluttering and simplifying my life (or attempting, to, anyway). And in my experience, the more memories and traditions you create at the Fair, the more you’ll look forward to it each year. 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by! I am *glad* that you liked my list. I saw your photographs from the Fair and I just can’t wait until my Simon is old enough for some of the kids activities that we were only able to look at this time around. Hooray for traditions!

Leave a Reply

