thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Sick Day

4 Comments

Today was a day of rest and recovery in the Lord Family household. Our poor little one is sick with fever and has been lethargic and understandably cranky. We cancelled our picnic plans with relatives and kept our Buggle home instead, trying to encourage him to drink fluids, eat healthy foods, and sleep.

I experienced one of those mothering dilemmas in the baby needs aisle at the grocery store. Simon had been refusing fluids most of the day, so I was on a mission to buy him some flavored baby electrolyte water. When I saw that the ingredients included artificial colors however, I spent about ten whole minutes hemming and hawing (and calling Daddy on the phone for his opinion) over the decision of whether or not to purchase it. In the end I decided that as much as I am vehemently against any foods with artificial colors, the need to hydrate was more important and we would try it. Unfortunately, Simon did not drink it when offered, and think I would have been much better off sticking to brewing him some passion fruit iced tea. Oh well…sigh.

Tonight is another night of checking on the baby through the evening and hoping that by morning this fever will have broken. If not, then I will be taking him to his doctor.


Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

4 thoughts on “Sick Day

  1. Krista, you can make your own! It’s way cheaper and you have control of what goes into it.

    http://www.food.com/recipe/homemade-pedialyte-331483

    • Thanks for the tip Bri! This would help me avoid buying a whole jug of the stuff and then having it hang around when he decides he hates it. However, still doesn’t solve the food coloring problem but I wonder if I could figure out another way? Perhaps there is another gelatin brand out there without? Or one flavor that they don’t color? I will be looking into this!!

  2. Just use the Knox unflavored Gelatin. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

