thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Some Days

Leave a comment

Some days are those days. I have learned that these will happen, and rather than fight it I need to accept the fact that I am not Superwoman, and I just need to get through it. The more able I am to accept the fact that I will probably not get much housework done, and that days like this are not for accomplishing great feats of productivity, but instead are for going with the flow and getting to the end, well, the more able I am to cope with the realities of the day. Realities like:


~The child going on nap-strike and having an afternoon over-tired meltdown as a result.
~Eating an energy bar for breakfast while I drive to the first job of the day. (Thank goodness I made a batch the night before!)
~Having to bring the child to work with me (at the urging of my boss) because the best friend who you usually swap childcare with is sick and the Husband who works night shift needs to sleep.
~Tripping on a toy bear, and a live cat as I make my way across the kitchen.
~By the time the child does nap, it interferes with the ability to go run errands, so we will just have to cope with being out of milk and kitty litter a little bit longer. (Even though the cat box stinks!)
~Burning my finger on my toaster oven and flinging my tuna melt into the air.
~The husband simply lifting a glass up off of the counter and having it split horizontally so that the bottom flies off and hits the floor, seltzer splashing everywhere. (How does that even happen!?)
~Rushing off to job number two and missing out on the child’s bedtime ritual.


I am happy to report that the “Take-the-child-to-work” experience went well. Better than I expected even. It helped that my shift was only one hour to cover for a meeting, but still, something to be thankful for in the chaos of this day. He spent half of the time sitting calmly on my lap (mostly because he was shy, but today shyness was a blessing), and the other half walking around, exploring while I trailed behind and re-shelved the occasional book. (I work on the Children’s Floor at the public library.) He helped to feed the guinea pig, played with blocks in the castle playhouse, and looked at board books. He wiggled a little bit on my lap as I signed a patron up for a new library card, and whined a little as I was getting our stuff ready and punching out for the day, but was otherwise very pleasant. (It also helped that it was very quiet there today.)

Here is my little guy trying out the chess set at the library. I know Daddy would have been proud!

Despite it being one of those days I know that tomorrow is brand new. Tomorrow is always a chance to try again at having a more serene, more productive experience. Or at least not to burn my finger or trip over any cats.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

Leave a Reply

